Authors @ the Library 2015 Event Series

Authors @ the Library
2014 Author @ the Library Series
2013 Author @ the Library Series
2011 Author @ the Library Series
2008 Author @ the Library Series

To inspire readers and writers and to encourage the love of reading!

 

Coming February 25, 2015

EVA GATES

Eva Gates began her writing career as a Sunday writer: a single mother of three high-spirited daughters, with a full-time job as a computer programmer. Now she has more than ten novels under her belt, all in the mystery genre, published under the name Vicki Delany. She lives in Ontario.

“It’s a crime not to read Delany,” says the London Free Press. Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers. She is the author of the Constable Molly Smith police series set in the British Columbia Interior, the light-hearted Klondike Gold Rush books, and novels of gothic suspense.

Book or By Crook

The first in the Lighthouse Library mysteries will be introduced on February 25th in the Lady Lake Public Library ~ 10 a.m. and the W. T. Bland Public Library ~ 2 p.m.

“For ten years Lucy has enjoyed her job poring over rare tomes of literature for the Harvard Library, but she has not enjoyed the demands of her family’s social whorl or her sort-of-engagement to the staid son of her father’s law partner. But when her ten-year relationship implodes, Lucy realizes that the plot of her life is in need of a serious rewrite.

Calling on her Aunt Ellen, Lucy hopes that a little fun in the Outer Banks sun—and some confections from her Cousin Josie’s bakery—will help clear her head. But her retreat quickly turns into an unexpected opportunity when Aunt Ellen gets her involved in the lighthouse library tucked away on Bodie Island.

Lucy is thrilled to land a librarian job in her favorite place in the world. But when a priceless first edition Jane Austen novel is stolen and the chair of the library board is murdered, Lucy suddenly finds herself ensnared in a real-life mystery—and she’s not so sure there’s going to be a happy ending….”


Coming in April

LOU BERNEY

Lou Berney is the author of two novels, Gutshot Straight and Whiplash River. His short fiction has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Ploughshares, and the Pushcart Prize anthology, and he has written feature screenplays and created television pilots for, among others, Warner Brothers, Paramount, Focus Features, ABC, and Fox. He teaches at the University of Oklahoma and in the Red Earth MFA program at Oklahoma City University.

“Berney takes his rightful place as heir to Elmore Leonard with this witty and nimble comedic thriller . . . the exotic locales are vibrant, the supporting cast larger than life, and the plot hums along without a wasted page.” on Whiplash River —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Lou Berney is an accomplished writer, teacher, and liar who has written feature screenplays and created TV pilots for Warner Brothers, Paramount, Focus Features, ABC, and Fox, among others. His short fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Ploughshares, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and other publications. His first novel, Gutshot Straight, was named one of the ten best debut crime novels of the year by Booklist and nominated for a Barry Award. www.louberney.com/

The Long and Faraway Gone

Berney has created a sharp, evocative crime novel set against the big-sky prairie sunsets of Oklahoma City, a tale of two unsolved cold cases and the survivors left behind, drawn back 25 years later to confront the harrowing mysteries that have defined their lives—and to finally discover the truth, no matter the cost.
It’s the summer of 1986 where two separate incidents make headlines in Oklahoma City: An armed robbery ended with the murder of six movie-theater employees, leaving just one survivor. Then a teenage girl vanished without a trace from the annual State Fair. Neither crime was ever solved. Now, twenty-five years later, Wyatt -- the lone survivor of the movie-theater massacre of 1986 -- is working as a private investigator in Las Vegas. Hired for what seems a routine investigation on behalf of a feisty single mother, Wyatt realizes too late that it will force him to return to his hometown, and to a past he’s tried to escape since he was 15.

Also in Oklahoma City, Julianna has lived a life consumed by her obsession with the day her beautiful older sister Genevieve disappeared from the State Fair. When Julianna discovers that the ex-con carnie who was the prime suspect in the case has re-emerged after years off the grid, she resolves to get answers, even if she has to do it all herself.

As Wyatt’s case becomes more complicated and dangerous, and Julianna seeks answers from a ghost, their obsessive quests not only stir memories of youth and first love, but also begin to illuminate dark secrets of the past. Even if they find the truth, will it help them understand what happened and why they were left behind, that long and faraway gone summer? Will it set them free—or ultimately destroy them?

In the vein of Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, and Gillian Flynn, with tight plotting irresistible characters and a balance of emotional depth and humor, The Long and Faraway Gone is a fiercely compassionate novel about the mysteries of memory, and what it means to survive.

This appearance is brought to you in part by HarperCollins Publishers.