Skip Navigation Links

Databases Listed Alphabetically

All of the libraries in Florida have access to the Florida Electronic Library. Additionally, the Lake County Library System subscribes to the databases listed below to supplement the Florida Electronic Library.

Some of our databases provide helpful online tours or tutorials of the database. If a tutorial is available, we have provided the link for you indicated with "Online Tutorial". If you have difficulty accessing one of these databases, the problem may be in the configuration of your browser or the setup of your internet service provider.

A to Z Databases
A to Z Databases is the premier job search, reference and mailing list database. It provides details on every business and household in the U.S. The database also includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. A to Z is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, or finding friends and relatives. The database will help entrepreneurs conduct prospecting, help students complete market studies, and more.

Florida Electronic Library
A collection of free databases and live reference services available to all Florida residents. The Florida Electronic Library (FEL) is a gateway to electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias and books, and the Ask a Librarian reference service.

Access World News - Orlando Sentinel/Newsbank
Offers abstracts and selected full-text articles from domestic and international newspapers. Also includes America's Obituaries & Death Notices

Employ Florida Marketplace
Employ Florida Marketplace is your one-stop online resource for job listings, education and training opportunities, career building assistance and much more.

Florida One-Stop Career Centers
From training to job searches, Florida's One-Stop Career Centers provide a full range of assistance for the jobseeker. Find Information at the state's 73 Full Service or 25 Satellite One-Stop Career Centers or 2 Business Centers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations. - See more at: http://www.flelibrary.org/all.php#sthash.DMi1k9WW.dpuf

One-click Digital
In 1979, Henry Trentman, desperately searching for an alternative to standard radio programming to fill his hours on the road, came up with the idea of listening to recordings of all the great books he couldn't find time to read. Since the offerings of audiobook companies at the time were sparse and of uneven quality, Henry decided to take matters into his own hands and record books for himself. From this decision has grown Recorded Books, the world's largest independent publisher and distributor of unabridged audiobooks on cassettes, CDs, and downloadable.

Overdrive Digital Library
Overdrive is the host for the library system's online electronic book and audiobook collection. All you will need is a library card and a device to start downloading. The best part... no late fees!

Popular Magazines
Popular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. All our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

Zinio
Zinio, the world's largest newsstand, offers full color, interactive digital magazines for your enjoyment. Browse from your library's collection of popular titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of magazines you can download.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, representing over 400 languages on materials ranging from stone tables to electronic books. WorldCat includes information from 2100 BC to the present with thousands of records containing evaluative content such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries and notes about the authors.

Ancestry Library
Extensive resources for genealogical research. Includes U.S. Census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, passenger lists, the Daughters of the Revolution (DAR) Lineage Books, slave narratives, Dictionary of American Biography, Native American indexes, and the American Genealogical-Biographical Index.
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.

Florida Memory Project
The Online Classroom is designed to help educators use photographs, documents, sound recordings and film footage from the State Library and Archives of Florida. The Online Classroom also showcases collaborative projects between the State Library and Archives of Florida and Florida schools. These projects help students make a personal connection to the primary source documents that tell the stories of their communities.

HeritageQuest Online
A resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more.

Rosetta Stone
Start speaking another language with ease using Rosetta Stone. Check with a library to learn what languages are available at your library.
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.