Reading Romance Expo 2015

 

Blair Bancroft

Blair Bancroft’s writing and the Internet began the same year—1991, the year of the first Gulf War. Alas, the Internet has become considerably more famous and influential, but she can claim a Golden Heart win, a Golden Heart nomination, and a RITA final from the Romance Writers of America, a Best Regency award from Romantic Times, a Best Romance award from the Florida Writers’ Association, and two nominations for an EPPIE, sponsored by the Electronic Publishing Industry Coalition.

After nine published print books and eight books presented by major e-publishers, Blair plunged into indie publishing in the winter of 2011, uploading a good deal of her backlist and beginning to add new titles in 2012. She has been a strong advocate of online publishing (as long as it’s done with professionalism) since her first e-book came out in 1999 and an enthusiastic proponent for the freedom of Do It Yourself. Blair currently has twenty-seven full-length books and four novellas available online, and considers hand-held e-readers one of the great boons to mankind—thank you very much, Gene Roddenberry (creator of Star Trek.).

Blair also writes a weekly blog featuring Writing and Editing information - please see Grace's Mosaic Moments at http://mosaicmoments.blogspot.com. Blair is an "out of the mist" writer and her favorite comment about her own writing is that each morning she can hardly wait to get to the computer and find out what is going to happen to her characters today. www.blairbancroft.com/

The Mists of Moorhead Manor

The Mists of Moorhead Manor is a Gothic novel in the tradition of Victoria Holt, Mary Stewart, Phyllis Whitney, and Blair Bancroft's previous Regency-set Gothic, Brides of Falconfell.

Penelope Ruth Ballantyne has lived at the tail of the army all her life, experiencing the rigors of life in India, followed by five years of war in Portugal and Spain. Not surprisingly, now that she is orphaned, she accepts the most challenging position available, companion to an invalid who lives on the edge of Exmoor in northern Devonshire. After years of constant travel, Penny longs to settle under one roof, find a true home. Instead, she encounters hysteria, mysterious deaths, a nasty rival, and the constant fear of dismissal as she attracts the attention of more than one young gentleman in the household. Though the only one she truly sees is Robert, Lord Exmere, heir to Moorhead Manor. Together, they face a startling dilemma worthy of the judgment of Solomon.


Joyce Humphrey Cares

Joyce Humphrey Cares, author of time travel/romantic suspense is published by Sweet Cravings Publishing. Joyce combines her love of history and the places she has traveled when she weaves her stories. When she is not writing, Joyce builds dollhouses, plays golf, and plans her next trip to a place where she can return home and write a new story.

She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Sunshine State Romance Authors and the Florida chapter of Mystery Writers of America.

Excerpts of her novels Beyond The Mist, Degrees of Wickedness, and It Happened Yesterday can be found at her web site www.joycehumphreycares.com. She may be reached at joycecares01@gmail.com.

It Happened Yesterday

When Vicky Amari, FBI agent, travels to Italy on vacation and meets Tony Vega, a detective with the Italian National Police, love is the furthest thing from her mind. After he enlists her help in an investigation, the door to the past is ripped open. She realizes the icy chills that run up her spine have nothing to do with the temperature, but with her travel back to the first century where she meets a gladiator who accidently returns with her to modern day.

As the three unite to explore the disappearance of irreplaceable Etruscan antiquities, drug smuggling and cold-blooded murder, they become enmeshed in the inescapable web of lies and secrets of well-known citizens of an Italian hill town.

With the last days of her vacation fast approaching, Vicky helps the gladiator return to the first century. She realizes her life has changed in unexpected ways, and that she and Tony have developed a closeness neither wishes to give up.

 

Louise Gouge

Award-winning Florida author Louise M. Gouge writes historical fiction for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical imprint. In addition to numerous other awards, Louise is the recipient of the prestigious Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award for her 2005 novel, Hannah Rose (first place), and her 2011 Regency novella, The Gentleman Takes a Bride (second place). In 2012 she placed third in the Laurel Wreath contest with her novel A Proper Companion. Louise has e-published five of her out of print novels and one original novel, Escape from Kikwit. With her great love of history and research, Louise has traveled to several of her locations to ensure the accuracy of her stories’ settings. When she isn't writing, she and her husband love to visit historical sites and museums.

Louise worked in television marketing and public service while completing a Master of Liberal Studies degree from Rollins. Her thesis was, of course, a novel entitled Ahab's Bride.  She is an adjunct English professor at Valencia College.

 Please visit her Web site at blog.Louisemgouge.com

And Then Came Love

Love does not seek what it can get but what it can give, which is everything.

 

“And now abideth faith, hope, and love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” I Corinthians 13:13 (KJV)

Louisa Maria Downs has waited three long years for her soldier-sweetheart’s homecoming. But when he returns, John Jacobs stands aloof, his deep blue eyes revealing his longing for her, but his lips strangely silent. Convinced it is God’s will for them to marry, Louisa defies decorum and pursues the man who has owned her heart since she was twelve years old.

John Jacobs has spent three years fighting to keep the Union intact. Now back home, he longs to marry the young woman he has admired since boyhood. But shattering memories of what he did during the war magnify the bloodstains on his hands. He awakens each day more certain than ever that he is not worthy of the love of a decent woman, much less the love of God.
Torn apart by the Civil War, two young couples find restoration through love, grace, and forgiveness.
 

Diane Venetta

Dianne lives in Central Florida with her husband, two children and part-time Yellow Lab—Cody-body! When not whacking away at her keyboard crafting her next novel you'll find her in their organic garden chasing grasshoppers and plucking hornworms all while drawing wild analogies between kids and plants and men. Definitely men.

A girl's gotta have fun, right?

When she's not knee-deep in dirt or romance, Dianne contributes garden advice for various websites and volunteers in her kids' school garden (a crazy existence to be sure). But at the end of the day, if she can inspire someone to stop and smell the roses—or rosemary!—kiss their child and spouse good-night, be kind to a neighbor and Mother Earth, then she's done all right.

Not Without You
Book One: Silver Creek Series

Grad student, Lisa Richardson, scours the high country in search of her beloved boreal toad. The amphibian is in danger of extinction, a fate she is determined to change. Single-minded in her focus, Lisa doesn’t realize that she’s being followed by a mysterious stranger.

Enter McIntyre Walsh. Ex-marine with a heart of gold, this man lives and breathes duty. Protection. Content with his self-exile on a mountaintop in Colorado, he inadvertently witnesses a female hiker in danger, a situation he cannot ignore yet is unable to rectify. When their paths cross, Lisa and Walsh refuse to stray from their avowed goals and carry on–despite the other.

It isn’t until a killer ramps up his game that both are forced to relent. Battling the rugged terrain of the Rocky Mountains and an undeniable attraction between them, Lisa and Walsh must work together against the odds if they intend to get off the mountain alive.