News Release

For immediate release - March 13, 2012

Winners of the 13th annual Bookmark Design Contest.

The Lake County Library System is pleased to announce the winners of the 13th annual Bookmark Design Contest. The public is invited to the awards presentation, which will be held as part of the Authors’ Reception on Friday, March 30th in the Lady Lake Public Library. The winning bookmark designs will be unveiled at the event which begins at 6:30 p.m., and then will be available at all 15 libraries in the Lake County Library System, and will be printable from the library system’s web site.

The winners are as follows:
In the Elementary School Category:

Julia Zhu 1st Place (Lost Lake Elementary)
Sara Mehdinia 2nd Place (Minneola Elementary)
Sarah Nour 3rd Place (Lost Lake Elemenary)
Fiona Zagorini 4th Place (Lost Lake Elementary)

In the Middle School Category:

Miles Maciejewski 1st Place (Home School)
Mara Hilerio 2nd Place (Mount Dora Middle School)
Samuel Eslick 3rd Place (Mount Dora Middle School)
Julienid Cedeno 4th Place (Mount Dora Middle School)

In the High School Category:

Hannah Austin 1st Place (Mount Dora High School)
Dominic Amato 2nd Place (Leesburg High School)
Jessica Durant 3rd Place (Mount Dora High School)
Kassandra Kertesz 4th Place (Mount Dora High School)

In the Adult Category:

Toni Amato 1st Place
Rita Marie Carbone 2nd Place
M. Sue Scheiderer 3rd Place
Rita Mitchell 4th Place

The complete schedule for the Festival of Reading including writing workshops and author events are posted on All programs are presented free to the public thanks to our sponsors Lake County Office of Economic Development and Tourism; SECO, HarperCollins Publishers; Raintree Books and the Florida Humanities Council.



Media contact:
Thom Mazak
Program Coordinator

« Back to Current News