Subscribe to the LCLS Newsletter | Manage Preferences
January - March 2009     VOLUME 13 ISSUE 1
< Back to Articles

Bookmark Design Contest 2009

Linda Goff

The Lake County Library System is proud to announce the 10th annual Bookmark Design Contest for Lake County K-12 students. This year’s theme is “Fantastic Florida”, which is also the theme of our Festival of Reading events. Each contest entry should illustrate something that you think makes Florida a great place to live, work and play.

The winning artists will be announced and honored at a Festival of Reading event. The winning bookmark designs will be available at all 14 libraries in the Lake County Library System, and will be printable from the library system’s web site. Lake County Library System’s Festival of Reading will feature special programs with a Florida theme at libraries from March 25 through March 28, 2009. Award winning authors this year include Cynthia Barnett, Bill Belleville, James O. Born, Kristin Congdon, Vic DiGenti, Tim Dorsey, Mary Anna Evans, Karen Hawkins, Bruce Hunt, Gary Mormino, Bob Morris, Elaine Viets, Stephen G. Craft. Two exhibits will be featured including Janeen Mason at the Lake County Historical Museum and 24 Women of Lake County at the W.T. Bland Public Library.

Entry forms and guidelines may be picked up at any of the following library locations: Astor Library, Baysinger Memorial Library (Groveland), Cagan Crossings Community Library (Four Corners area), Cooper Memorial Library (Clermont), East Lake Library (Sorrento), Fruitland Park Library, Helen Lehmann Memorial Library (Montverde), Lady Lake Public Library, Leesburg Public Library, Marianne Beck Memorial Library (Howey-in-the-Hills), Paisley Library, Tavares Public Library, Umatilla Public Library, and W. T. Bland Public Library (Mount Dora).

Deadline for submissions is February 20, 2009. For additional information on this contest call Linda Goff at 352-253-6169. Entry forms and guidelines are also available on the web site at