Upcoming Authors @ the Library Programs Event Series

Authors @ the Library
Upcoming Author @ the Library Programs
2015 Author @ the Library Series
2014 Author @ the Library Series
2013 Author @ the Library Series
2011 Author @ the Library Series
2008 Author @ the Library Series

To inspire readers and writers and to encourage the love of reading!

April 7 and 8, 2015

LOU BERNEY

Lou Berney, the author Gutshot Straight and Whiplash River will introduce his latest, The Long and Faraway Gone on Tuesday, April 7 in the W. T. Bland Public Library at 6:30 p.m. and in the Leesburg Public Library on Wednesday, April 8 at 2 p.m.

His short fiction has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Ploughshares, and the Pushcart Prize anthology, and he has written feature screenplays and created television pilots for, among others, Warner Brothers, Paramount, Focus Features, ABC, and Fox. He teaches at the University of Oklahoma and in the Red Earth MFA program at Oklahoma City University.

"The two key players in Lou Berney's superb regional mystery suffer from separate but equally crushing cases of survivor guilt…Berney tells both their stories with supreme sensitivity, exploring the 'landscape of memory' that keeps shifting beneath our feet." The Long and Faraway Gone, New York Times Book Review

Lou Berney is an accomplished writer, teacher, and liar who has written feature screenplays and created TV pilots for Warner Brothers, Paramount, Focus Features, ABC, and Fox, among others. His short fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Ploughshares, the Pushcart Prize anthology, and other publications. His first novel, Gutshot Straight, was named one of the ten best debut crime novels of the year by Booklist and nominated for a Barry Award. www.louberney.com/

The Long and Faraway Gone

Berney has created a sharp, evocative crime novel set against the big-sky prairie sunsets of Oklahoma City, a tale of two unsolved cold cases and the survivors left behind, drawn back 25 years later to confront the harrowing mysteries that have defined their lives—and to finally discover the truth, no matter the cost.
It’s the summer of 1986 where two separate incidents make headlines in Oklahoma City: An armed robbery ended with the murder of six movie-theater employees, leaving just one survivor. Then a teenage girl vanished without a trace from the annual State Fair. Neither crime was ever solved. Now, twenty-five years later, Wyatt -- the lone survivor of the movie-theater massacre of 1986 -- is working as a private investigator in Las Vegas. Hired for what seems a routine investigation on behalf of a feisty single mother, Wyatt realizes too late that it will force him to return to his hometown, and to a past he’s tried to escape since he was 15.

Also in Oklahoma City, Julianna has lived a life consumed by her obsession with the day her beautiful older sister Genevieve disappeared from the State Fair. When Julianna discovers that the ex-con carnie who was the prime suspect in the case has re-emerged after years off the grid, she resolves to get answers, even if she has to do it all herself.

As Wyatt’s case becomes more complicated and dangerous, and Julianna seeks answers from a ghost, their obsessive quests not only stir memories of youth and first love, but also begin to illuminate dark secrets of the past. Even if they find the truth, will it help them understand what happened and why they were left behind, that long and faraway gone summer? Will it set them free—or ultimately destroy them?

In the vein of Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, and Gillian Flynn, with tight plotting irresistible characters and a balance of emotional depth and humor, The Long and Faraway Gone is a fiercely compassionate novel about the mysteries of memory, and what it means to survive.

The programs are free, sponsored in part by HarperCollins Publishers, the Lake County Library System, the Leesburg Friends of the Library and the Mount Dora Library Association.