Subscribe to the LCLS Newsletter | Manage Preferences
July - September 2013     VOLUME 17 ISSUE 3
< Back to Articles

Second Chance Books

Crystal Osborne

Every now and then I will check out a book, take it home maybe read a page but for some reason I just can't get into the story. Sometimes, I'll bring the same book home several times. For some reason my attention will be brought back to that book and I will give it another chance and once I start reading I don't stop. I usually turn out to love the book. I just had to wait for the right time to read it.
That's what happened with The Warded Man (Book 1 of the Demon Cycle) by Peter V. Brett. As soon as I finished the book I had holds placed on the next two books. The Desert Spear and The Daylight War. Now I am waiting for the next book in the series to be published. I highly recommened checking out this series and giving books a second chance.
As darkness falls after sunset, the corelings rise—demons who possess supernatural powers and burn with a consuming hatred of humanity. For hundreds of years the demons have terrorized the night, slowly culling the human herd that shelters behind magical wards—symbols of power whose origins are lost in myth and whose protection is terrifyingly fragile. It was not always this way. Once, men and women battled the corelings on equal terms, but those days are gone. Night by night the demons grow stronger, while human numbers dwindle under their relentless assault. Now, with hope for the future fading, three young survivors of vicious demon attacks will dare the impossible, stepping beyond the crumbling safety of the wards to risk everything in a desperate quest to regain the secrets of the past. Together, they will stand against the night. - From the book jacket
 Don't let the demons deter you from checking this series out. It's so much more!