Read On - Recommended Reading and Books

Read Me's

Jul 2015
An Ember in the Ashes
by Sabaa Tahir


May 2015
Paper Towns
by John Green


Apr 2015
Vanishing Girls
by Lauren Oliver


Mar 2015
I'll Give You the Sun
by Jandy Nelson


Jun 2014
Midwinterblood
by Marcus Sedgwick


May 2014
Gilded
by Christina Farley


View Past Read Me's

Find More Reads

Find more great Reads and reviews at TeenReads.com

Suggest a Title

Looking for a book, DVD or CD but not finding it in the Library Catalog? Suggest a Purchase
This Month's Read Me!
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes
By Sabaa Tahir

Perfect for fans of Red Queen and Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles series, An Ember in the Ashes is the first book in an exhilarating fantasy adventure series about the power of hope in the face of oppression. 

Debut novelist Sabaa Tahir tells the thrilling, heart-wrenching story of two unforgettable characters willing to sacrifice everything for the chance to write their own destinies. 

In a world inspired by ancient Rome and defined by brutality, seventeen-year old Laia has grown up with one rule for survival: Never challenge the Empire. But when Laia's brother Darin is arrested for treason, she leaves behind everything she knows, risking her life to try and save him. She enlists help from the rebels whose extensive underground network may lead to Darin. Their help comes with a price, though. Laia must infiltrate the Empire's greatest military academy as a spy. 

Elias is the Empire's finest soldier—and its most unwilling one. Since childhood, he has trained to become one of the Masks, deadly fighters who ravage and destroy in the name of the Empire. But Elias is secretly planning a dangerous escape from the very tyranny he has sworn to enforce. 

Thrown together by chance and united by their hatred of the Empire, Laia and Elias will soon discover that their fates are intertwined—and that their choices may change the destiny of the entire Empire. 

From the Hardcover edition.

 

Great Booklists

Best Books for Teens at Amazon.com

Web sites for Everything Books from VOYA.com

Middle School "For Teens, by Teens'" recommended reading list for 6th, 7th and 8th grade students.

Past Read Me's

Jul 2015 - An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
May 2015 - Paper Towns by John Green
Apr 2015 - Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver
Mar 2015 - I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Jun 2014 - Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
May 2014 - Gilded by Christina Farley
Apr 2014 - Origin by Jessica Khoury
Dec 2013 - Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
Oct 2013 - Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Aug 2013 - The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore
Jun 2013 - Scarlet by Melissa Meyer
May 2013 - The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Mar 2013 - Unlocked by Ryan Van Cleave
Jul 2012 - Grave Mercy by Robin LeFevers
Jul 2012 - City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
Apr 2012 - Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Mar 2012 - The Sleepwalkers by J. Gabriel Gates
Jan 2012 - Dark Territory by J. Gabriel Gates and Charlene Keel
Dec 2011 - The Margrave by Catherine Fisher
Nov 2011 - The Sleepwalkers by J. Gabriel Gates
Oct 2011 - Goliath by Scott Westerfeld
Sep 2011 - City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
Aug 2011 - Human.4 by Mike A. Lancaster
Jul 2011 - Forever by Maggie Stiefvater
Jun 2011 - Viola in the spotlight by Adriana Trigiana
Apr 2011 - The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group by Jinks, Catherine.
Mar 2011 - Leapholes by James Grippando
Dec 2010 - Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Nov 2010 - ReVamped by Lucienne Diver
Sep 2010 - Wish I might: from the life of Willa Havisham by Coleen Paratore
Aug 2010 - Max: a Maximum Ride novel by James Patterson
Jul 2010 - As easy as falling off the face of the earth by Lynne Rae Perkins
Jun 2010 - Peace, love, & baby ducks by Lauren Myracle
May 2010 - Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Apr 2010 - Steel Trapp: The Academy by Ridley Pearson
Mar 2010 - Heist Society by Ally Carter
Feb 2010 - Living on Impulse by Cara Haycak
Jan 2010 - Lady McBeth's Daughter by Lisa Klein
Dec 2009 - Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series by Rick Riodan
Nov 2009 - Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Oct 2009 - Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Sep 2009 - The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Aug 2009 - Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler
Jun 2009 - The Sorceress by Michael Scott
Sep 2008 - Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer